Is your church cool?

March 6, 2008 at 5:26 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

My small group has been watching the Andy Stanly series “Go Fish” and it’s been sparking some great discussion. It’s making us ask the question “Are you proud of your church?’ or more specifically, “Would you be too embarrassed to invite your friends to your church?” I think that I used to be afraid to invite my friends to church because I thought it would be confusing for them. They wouldn’t understand why we were singing old songs with a piano and organ. They wouldn’t understand why everybody was so dressed up. They wouldn’t understand why I go there. I’m now at a church that I would invite everyone to. I feel like my church doesn’t make it weird for a new person. We try and make it as simple as possible. You don’t have to dress up. There are cool environments for kids and youth. The music is comparable to what people listen to on their own. Most important, the message is relevant to people today.
Church should be a place that we want to go to.

5 Comments

  1. mandoron said,

    Amen!

    Church can be cooler than anything else you might want to be doing on a Sunday morning.

  2. Pete Wilson said,

    I obviously have am probably too personally tied to this question to answer it honestly but,,,YES. I would absolutely feel totally comfortable inviting an unchurched person to our church.

  3. krista said,

    Cross Point is definitely a place i want to go haha!
    duh, im proud of CP for being amazing, and duh, i would invite friends. i do all the time. i just wish they’d say yes more often.

  4. Too much pride? « From The Mind of MandoRon said,

    […] can thank Jarrod for getting me thinking about this […]

  5. Share-it Saturday, March 22 « From The Mind of MandoRon said,

    […] Kem suggests that maybe we (the church) need to chill and get out of God’s way. […]

Leave a Reply

