Age in Ministry

March 19, 2008 at 2:36 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

I turned 26 yesterday and I’m still referred to as “the kid” on staff at my church. I became the music director at our church when I was 23. I was the second youngest person on our music team at the time. It doesn’t help that most of my musicians are professional players. Some of them have been in music longer than I’ve been alive. I have sometimes felt like I’m in over my head. How do you give direction to someone who can play circles around you? But then I remember that God has put me in this place for a reason. I’m here for his glory and not my own. It’s not unlike God to take someone who is not the best at what they do and use them in an extraordinary way. David was a kid when he killed Goliath. Maybe my giant is the image I have of myself and my talents?

5 Comments

  1. raydeck3 said,

    That’s a really interesting thought. I get the same feeling sometimes. I’m 21, and I work with an 80 year-old director. He has 4 times the experience that I do, but occasionally we disagree. Does that mean that I’m wrong automatically? God puts us in interesting places sometimes.

    I write at:
    http://www.ministrylive.org
    http://www.thepreachingthespian.com

  2. mjdaniel said,

    Hmmm…. Great thoughts. I started on staff at a church when I was 19 as the youngest person in the worship ministry. I learned pretty quickly that what I bring to the table is not a great proficiency at any instrument or even vocally. What I brought to the table that the team members didn’t have was the bigger picture. It wasn’t directing someone to play an inversion of the same chord or different rhythm, it’s always been helping the individuals see how we work as a team to lead worship, not make music.

    Oddly enough, the people I’ve always gotten the most respect from on a praise team are the older folks – the ones closer to my age were always most difficult to deal with. The key for me was admitting that I didn’t know it all. The old-times loved it because they wanted to help me become what I needed to be and would follow me because I knew I didn’t have it all together. The young-heads would try to fight for the same leadership role. At the end of the day, I’ve been able to lead some great folks into and out of some bad and great situations and it’s been a blast. As a Millenial (that’s our generation), I’ve been able to lead Xers and even Baby-boomers in the church and in the workplace and it’s been a blast – and the bottom line is what you wrote “God has put me in this place for a reason.”

    By the way – HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    mjd

  3. Pete Wilson said,

    Jarrod- I think you have grown a ton in this area. I’m still trying to process your statement “Maybe my giant is the image I have of myself and my talents.” We would all be wise to wrestle with that giant.

  4. jcatron said,

    Jarrod – the thing that I have always admired about you is your willingness to learn and grow. You have an amazing heart and a humble attitude that have helped you work through some of the challenges that come with being “the kid”. I can’t wait to see how God continues to work in your life and through your leadership!

  5. krista said,

    j-rod, you’re my fav worship leader, and i think you do an amazing job all week. you’ve got a big heart and it’s in the right place to be where you are. and God did stick you in that place for a reason, so don’t forget it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

