Tourist Towns Tattoo’s and God

April 14, 2008 at 6:01 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )

My wife and I had a get away this past weekend. We left our kid with Bubbles (my mom) and headed to Gatlinburg, TN. We had a beautiful, secluded cabin on the mountain. I’d show some pictures, but clothing was optional. It was a wonderful time for us to fall in love all over again.

We decided to go do the tourist stuff on Saturday. We walked the whole town. The highlights include the aquarium (live sharks) and the sky-lift.

There was a “Women of Joy” conference going on this weekend so the town was covered in middle-aged white women in matching pink tee shirts. I have a healthy fear of large groups of people who are wearing matching outfits, so we decided hide out in a tattoo parlor.

I was surprised to see three of the conference goers inside. I tried to blend in with the rest of the crowd, which included two couples making out, a man who didn’t look like he had anymore room on his body for another tattoo, and a receptionist.

The three women were talking loudly about the tattoo that one of them was going to get on her wrist. It was something to the effect of “God’s servant” written in Hebrew. The ladies started asking the receptionist if they should feel guilty about getting a tattoo at a Christian conference. At this point, my wife decided to join the conversation.

(As a private note, I don’t usually tell people my profession because it makes them uncomfortable around me)

She told everybody that I was a worship leader and my church would be cool with me getting a tattoo. They asked what kind of church would be okay with me leading worship with at tattoo. I explained that my church was not about a “look.” They were shocked when I told them I wear jeans and t-shirts on stage.

This brought the tattoo artist out of the back room. He said he was happy to hear that not every church was judgmental about looks. He had been to a few churches that couldn’t see him through his exterior of tattoo’s and leather. He understood that he wasn’t perfect and realized that he didn’t need to become perfect to enter a church.

God doesn’t need us to pick and choose who we let into a sanctuary. We just need to love and except.

It turns out that the tattoo artist and me had a lot in common. He told me about his kids and his love for his job. He told me he was very happy with where he was in life.

I don’t know if he was a Christian or not. But I believe that my life was blessed by meeting this 6’3”, father of two, workaholic, tattoo artist.

7 Comments

  1. Brian Alexander said,

    That is a cool story. I’m glad we have a church like that too.

  2. Jad said,

    I’m just happy that you call your mother “bubbles”

  3. Lynn said,

    I really enjoyed your site… I will visit often. Thanks

  4. Julie P said,

    So did you get a tattoo?

  5. krista said,

    man, i thought you were gonna say you got a tattoo… 🙂
    good story, j-rod.

  6. Eve Annunziato said,

    Thanks for sharing this meaningful story. We’re so blessed to have a church community that is safe for EVERYONE and realizes it’s all about the heart not about the exteriors. We’re are so very blessed! And, you were a witness to every person in that place.
    I’m so glad you both had a chance to spend some much needed quality time together and I’m thankful you didn’t post all the details!
    Great blog, Jarrod!

  7. Miranda said,

    This is one of the best things I have read in a long time. A perfect bedtime story that touched my heart.

    I am so proud to work with you, thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

