Homeless Friend

April 28, 2008 at 4:24 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

I’ve recently befriended a homeless lady. She usually makes her home in the ally between Cross Point Community Church and Park Ave. Baptist Church.
She’s not pushy. If I give her change she says “thank you,” but she doesn’t get mad if I don’t have change. She spends most of her time outside of the library on Charlotte. She reads a lot. She sits in the sun in the mornings and in the shade in the afternoon. She seems so content.

I don’t know her name, and we usually just talk about the weather.

I don’t know if she dreams of being rich or at least about owning a bed.

I don’t know if she has family somewhere.

I don’t know if she believes in a god.

I don’t know if she eats regularly.

I sometimes wonder what God has planned for people like her. How does this lady fit into His story? How is her life giving glory to His name?

I don’t pretend to understand God. I just have faith that he is in control.

2 Comments

  1. Eve Annunziato said,

    I love that you give her change. I love that you talk to her. And, I love that you notice her and ponder these questions. Thanks, Jarrod, for walking the walk!

  2. Pete Wilson said,

    Hey bro. Let’s take her to McDonald’s one day and ask her a few of these questions. I bet you there is a story there!

Leave a Reply

