Is anybody “good?”

May 30, 2008 at 3:35 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

I hate watching movies and TV shows where the hero is just and the villain is pure evil.

 

There’s a show on FX that I used to be addicted to. It was a cop show called The Shield. What I loved about it was the characters were all flawed. No one was good or bad. All of them were justified in their own minds. As a viewer you could see the characters make bad decisions that would affect their lives in bad ways, but the characters themselves seemed oblivious to the consequences to come.

 

I feel like this program shows life for what it really is.

The truth is that we are all flawed. We’re bad people who occasionally do good things.

We all picture ourselves as the hero character in a story about us.

 

This includes Christians.

 

We’re not always right. We’re not always good. We’re not always justified.

 

My favorite bible verse is 1st Corinthians 4:4.

Paul say’s “My conscious is clear, but that doesn’t prove I’m right. It is the Lord himself who will examine me and decide.

 

This is a man of God admitting that he THINKS that he’s right, but he could be WRONG. He is doing the best he can to follow Christ, but he will probably mess up.

 

And that’s okay. We can be wrong sometimes. God loves us as we are. We should try our best to be faithful to him. And when we fall, (and we will) get back up and follow Him.

3 Comments

  1. Laura said,

    I must admit, I do not like “The Shield” because there is no”hero” and all of the cops are so messed up. But I agree…sadly we are all messed up.Thank you for reminding me that I need to get up and be faithfully following him at all times…even when it feels like I fall every step I take.

  2. Randy Cook said,

    Jarrod,

    I am constantly running into people who think about the consequences as the very “last thing”…..it’s absolutely amazing to me.

    Great post!

    Randy

  3. Eve Annunziato said,

    Important reminder, Jarrod. I admit, I often think I’m RIGHT. Yet, not only am I wrong, but in reality being right isn’t all that important. I need to focus more on being authentic, humble, exposed, teachable and submissive. Great post!

Leave a Reply

