What a novel idea!

June 2, 2008 at 5:32 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

We just started a new series at our church yesterday called Sync. https://jarrodmorris.wordpress.com/2008/05/29/sync/

As my wife and I were talking about the sermon we realized that we don’t read the bible. We read books about Jesus and other people views on biblical principals, but we don’t read the bible.

So we are committing to reading a chapter a week and then sitting down on Thursday nights and discussing it. Basically, we are having a two person small group.

But I want to challenge others to do the same. If you want to take the journey with us, all you have to do is read. I’ll post our Thursday night discussion every Friday morning. Then you can post your thoughts on the chapter.

It’s an online bible study.

We’re going to start this week with Acts 1:1-26. (Why Acts? Why not?)

I’d love for some of you to take part in this with us!

10 Comments

  1. brandiandboys said,

    Great idea you two. Love that you’re tackling it together!

  2. krista said,

    i have that same problem. i read tons of books, but the bible is just not one of them. i feel bad about it, and that was one of my thoughts on Sunday of something that’s gotta change. so i’m game for reading with ya!

  3. Phil Chalos said,

    I’m in…I was thinking the same thing on Sunday. I read about what others think about Jesus but I don’t read enough of the bible sometimes to know I feel about him. Thanks

  4. Lori K said,

    Awesome idea – a two person small group!! Love it! Why is it that we read all kinds of things, books, news, magazines, you name it……….but we don’t spend time reading the bible?! For me, it’s an issue of reading it then wanting to understand it……..all of it……..which is a tough task. That’s part of my control issues, I guess.

    A huge shout out to you and the team for the music on Sunday. It was one of the BEST ever. Congrats!

  5. Rachel said,

    What a great idea!

  6. Pete Wilson said,

    Fantastic Jarrod. I love it.

  7. Melissa said,

    Jad and I talked about this last night and we are in.

  8. ALP 2 said,

    Planning on getting married this coming year and I am in doing it with you. My future wife and I just talked about this three nights ago, how busy we have become with life. We know a lot about God, but do we really know him. The only way to go deep is to get into His word and let his life become yours. We both desire MORE of Him in every area. Thanks for your wonderful idea and look forward to seeing how God reveals himself across the country.

  9. Jessica said,

    Im in! And Excited. Here is some truth. I own a ton of bibles, Could I tell you where they are? NO! In fact I had to go buy one when I moved her because I thought now that Im going to church again I may need one Right? Well, could I tell you where that one is?,,, Nope, I think maybe in the trunk of my car! SAD!!!

  10. Acts 2:1-47 « left handed swimmers said,

    […] time to talk about the second chapter in Acts. (if you don’t know what I’m talking about, read https://jarrodmorris.wordpress.com/2008/06/02/what-a-novel-idea/ and […]

Leave a Reply

