Acts 1 :1-26

June 6, 2008 at 9:27 am (Uncategorized) (, , )

My wife and I started reading Acts last night and realized quickly that we don’t know alot.

Here are some of my notes and questions. Please feel free to give insight.

Did you know that Jesus appeared off and on for 40 days after the resurrection?

There’s more blood and gore in the bible than you can shake a stick at. Judas’s body bursts open and all his intestines spill out!

Did you know there was a 2nd Judas? (That would be like having the name Osama Bin laden today.)

They picked the new apostle with prayer and rolling dice. (I think we should adopt this strategy for elder nominees!)

Does anybody know the difference between an apostle and a disciple?

13 Comments

  1. Pete Wilson said,

    I’ll let you role the dice for the next elder. We’ll see how that works for you 🙂

  2. Jessica said,

    I had no idea there was a second Judas!!! Thanks for the info, I need to go check that out!
    And I don’t know the difference between and Apostle and a Disciple??? Guess Ill be checking on that also- Unless you are going to be filling us in 🙂

    Thanks for teaching me something today!

  3. Mike said,

    I’ve heard some interesting things come up w/r/t the dice thing.

    My grandfather used to say there was some distinction between that 13th person selected by dice, and the 13th person selected by God: Paul.

    I think it comes up later in Revelation or something.

    Anyway, I think you’re right…its amazing to actually get into scripture and read it. The small sound bites we get in most Bible studies are good, but they aren’t the whole thing.

  4. Jad said,

    Melissa and I are going to join you in your online Bible study. I’ve been wanting to read Acts all the way through so this will be cool.

    It’s always good to know the origins of the early church. I feel like as modern as church is becoming and as culturally relevant as the church must become to compete for our attention; on some level we are almost becoming more like the early church in Acts. I may expound on this in later posts.

    I did not know most of this stuff. I did like the intestines spilling out of Judas.

  5. Rachel said,

    I saw that about the intestines thing, too! I don’t remember learning that in Sunday School… I also didn’t know that they chose by “prayer and casting lots”??? Interesting…

  6. crossroadstalk said,

    the dice idea would be “no dice” up my way….thanks, but no thanks!

    We still love you Jarrod!

  7. brandiandboys said,

    Funny, I read the second Judas thing too this week. I didn’t know he existed either. Glad you two are doing this together.

  8. ME! said,

    Jarrod – check your facebook messages. 🙂 P.S. Sorry this has nothing to do with your post – but way to tackle Acts. Sounds exciting! And from what I understand, an Apostle was a chosen teacher who was sent out to lay foundations, while a disciple was (and is) called to learn.

  9. Ricky Cook said,

    Awesome stuff! Few things excite me more than people, especially couples, getting into the Word together. Blessings to you!

  10. krista said,

    i actually read!!! i did know that jesus appeared recurringly for 40 days, but i didn’t know the following:

    1) judas #1 bought a field and then exploded in it…that’s not quite the version i remember, but then again it was sunday school.
    2) judas #2…really??
    3) i thought it was really interesting that they chose prayer and casting lots to choose the next disciple. whatever works, i guess.

    lookin forward to next week!

  11. Phil Chalos said,

    Jarrod…i appreciate your honesty so much….. not many folks are willing to share how much they don’t know about things.However, there are pleny that have all the answers to all the questions.

    Were those fuzzy dice or Andrew Dice or just the good ol’ just hang’n out on the corner w/ the biblical boys dice?

  12. Tim Godby said,

    A disciple (in the Hebrew understanding) doesn’t just want to know what the Rabbi says but is driven by a passionate desire to BE what the Rabbi IS. This is a powerful concept that is almost totally lost on North American Christians. As you’ve pointed out in your post we barely know what Jesus said (e.g. we don’t even read the Bible) so how can we possibly call ourselves disciples? I’m praying your resolve to read the Word of God will fuel the desire for you and your sphere of influence to “fan into flame’ a passionate desire to be more like Jesus! – 1John 2:6

  13. Phil Chalos said,

    Tim, Great explanation on disciple ….Rob Bell has a great video on the Rabbi.

Leave a Reply

