Silence

June 9, 2008 at 2:12 am (Uncategorized) ()

We talked about silence and resting in God at church tonight. This is something that I’m horrible at.

 

I think silence scares me.

 

Or maybe I just know how to be quiet and listen.

 

I’m committing myself to having at least five minutes of silence a day for the next week. This is going to be a time where all I do is listen.

 

No lists. No agenda’s. Just quality time with my creator.

 

I’d love some accountability with this. Does anyone want to do this challenge with me?

 

10 Comments

  1. Jessica said,

    Im in! I’ll keep you posted on how it goes… this is a big problem for me…. Im with you, I think Silence scares the crap out of me!

  2. Ricky Cook said,

    Count me in. This is tough. Even when I want to be quiet before God, my personal thoughts fill up and race towards what God wants to say to me therefore somehow nullifying what He is actually saying. I can’t quite get free of my personal agenda even when I try! Looking forward to this endeavor.

  3. brandiandboys said,

    I’m in…I’ve got to focus on being intentional. Thanks for the accountability!

  4. Rachel said,

    I’m in… scary as that may be…

  5. Nicki Robins said,

    Ok, I can do this! I know I can!

  6. Jared Woodard said,

    Im in! For the first time in awhile,the other day i was driving,and just turned off the radio.It was strangley calming to hear nothing but the wind coming through the windows. I need to start doing that more….

  7. Ricky Cook said,

    Okay, I went out for a quick 15 minute walk of solitude around Centennial Park today. When I went back in to my office and to the kitchen to get some lunch, I found that my lunch stash had been thrown out by the janitorial staff over the weekend. Now c’mon, was I being told that ‘Man doesn’t live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of God’.

  8. krista said,

    count me in

  9. Laura Morris said,

    OK…so I tried the five minute thing before bed last night….not a good idea when you are sitting in the bed in your pj’s…I woke up about 20 minutes later…today I am going to try it in a different setting 🙂

  10. Stephanie said,

    Count me in! Even when I try to sit quietly I can’t help but think about a million other things.

Leave a Reply

