Acts 2:1-47

June 13, 2008 at 4:02 am (Uncategorized) (, , )

Alright kids. It’s time to talk about the second chapter in Acts. (if you don’t know what I’m talking about, read https://jarrodmorris.wordpress.com/2008/06/02/what-a-novel-idea/ and https://jarrodmorris.wordpress.com/2008/06/06/acts-1-1-26/)

 

Remember this is a discussion; so write in your thoughts on the chapter.

 

This chapter was at the day of Pentecost (50 days after the Passover celebration). This is where the Holy Spirit was poured out on a group of believers. The verses describe flaming tongues being laid on each person’s head. After that, they went out into the streets where they encounter Jews and gentiles from all over the map. The spirit gave the followers of Christ the ability to speak in other languages.

 

How cool. They didn’t have to take 4 years worth of foreign language classes at their local community college. God just gave them another away to spread the gospel.

 

What I love about this chapter is that the non-Christians thought that the Christians were drunk. But Peter assured them that it was too early for them to be drunk. (Apparently, Christians shouldn’t get plastered before 9 in the morning) 

 

In chapter 2:38 Peter explains to the crowed (which included many Godly Jews) how to become Christians, and in all, 3000 people got baptized and accepted Christ into their lives.

 

The last part of the chapter shows how the believers did life together. They hung out with each other. They ate with each other. They laughed and cried with each other. I think this is what church was meant to be.

 

What do you think?

 

4 Comments

  1. Jad said,

    I absolutely love this chapter. I heard a pastor preach a great message on this chapter pretty recently.

    Essentially, this is THE beginning of the Church. Just like you said, this is what church was meant to be. Vs. 42 – 47 are entitled “Fellowship of the Believers” in my Bible and I love this section. A few thing stick out…”everyone was filled with awe” and “ate together with glad and sincere hearts, praising God and enjoying the favor of all the people.”

    Filled with awe is one thing that I think sometimes we miss. We miss the awesomeness of God sometimes in everyday life, and it’s meant to be shared with community.

    Oh, and Peter must have been a good preacher becuase in 37 it says the people were cut to the heart and immediately went into action.

  2. juliepersinger said,

    I love passages where you see prophecy fulfilled – in this case, from Joel 2. You’ve gotta love Peter’s boldness to say after explaining all of that, v. 31 “So let it be clearly known by everyone in Israel that God has made this Jesus whom you crucified to be both Lord and Messiah!”

    I think it’s interesting that after describing how the believers were doing life together after that, it says in the very last sentence, “And each day the Lord added to their group those who were being saved.”

  3. ash said,

    I’m trying to imagine hearing about “the wonders of God” (vs. 11) in my own language from somebody that I know doesn’t speak my language. It must’ve felt a lot like when I hear a message and think, “That pastor was speaking straight to me. Like he knows exactly what’s going on in my life.” How cool that God makes sure that we hear what we need to hear from him.

    The most striking part to me is when Peter says (vs. 39), “The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off–for all whom the Lord our God will call.”

    I think about how often I am the one who is “far off” and am reminded of the way the dad in the prodigal son story ran to meet his child when he was still a long way off…knowing that God’s promise of real hope is offered that freely blows me away. That He’s calling my heart to His even when I’m far off…

    I do love to picture of the early believers just doing life together (especially eating!) and taking care of each other. I think our society promotes a self-sufficiency, pride and independence that these guys would’ve laughed at and told us just to help each other out and take care of each other.

    J-ROD, thanks for inviting me to dig in!

  4. krista said,

    i just read it today…sorry im a slacker, jrod.
    i wish that talking to others about faith was always in a language they could understand, even if it is plain english. the way i talk it’s a wonder anyone understands me at all. the 9 AM thing was pretty funny, though, i laughed.
    i liked that they were enjoying each other and doing life together. i agree with ashley that there is a self-sufficiency promoted today, and i admit that i suffer from it. im slowly learning that it’s ok to have a family of believers who are there for me and i for them in life.
    good chapter. i’ll try to be more on top of things for this week. 😉

Leave a Reply

