The Clip at 26?

June 15, 2008 at 10:29 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )

When we first got married, my wife and I decided that we were only going to have 2 kids. We’ve already had one and we’re in the beginning stages of adopting another. Basically, we’re done having kids.

So, now I’m considering getting a vasectomy!

I know, I know. That’s a procedure for 40 year olds, but I don’t want to continue paying for contraceptives for the next 15 years. That would be like throwing money down the drain.

Is this crazy?

I’m trying to weigh the other pro’s and con’s, but I need help.

What are your thought’s?

11 Comments

  1. patrowland said,

    seriously man I would really think that one through and not rush into it. You are at a point in life where things could change, don’t be in such a hurry to rush to the next stage. You can always get one in a year or two, but make sure that is what you want to do.

  2. juliepersinger said,

    I would certainly give it a lot of thought and prayer, which I’m sure you are…but if you know that you only want 2 and you’re already on the path to adoption, I don’t think it’s unreasonable to consider a permanent solution. Besides, a vasectomy can be reversed if you ever wanted to.

    I don’t blame you for not wanting to pay for contraceptives for umpteen years and from a female standpoint, if it’s a hormonal contraceptive, it’s silly to continue that if your decision is already made. Most women don’t have trouble with it, but why mess up Laura’s hormones if you really know you’re done?

  3. Cortni said,

    So you’ve really already heard my take on this, but when have I ever been one to hold my tongue. Pat makes a good point to mention that things in your life, your heart, your mind could change. I am certainly not suggesting that you need to have more than two children, and I am thrilled that you and Laura are going to share your love and blessings with a child who really needs it, but Vasectomies cannot always be reversed. So just think about it. I have more reasons I think you should wait but I’ll just bug you in person with those. Love ya Jarrod and Laura!

  4. Jared Woodard said,

    I acually have to go with Pat and Cortni on this one. Getting this precedure done is a big step,and you are still VERY young. I know you guys dont want more than 2 kids now,but whos to say you won’t want to have another in 5 years? Look at it this way. Would you pay the same ammount of money to have the precedure as you would to go ahead and just keep using a contraceptive for several years?(There’s some math for you to do when you want).

    P.S.:How do all of your post’s always end up in some sort of sex related convo?

  5. bradruggles said,

    Like they said…think it through and make sure you’re ready for that choice. If you are, I’m all for it. Been there, done that, got the t-shirt (ok, they didn’t give me a t-shirt but I felt that I deserved one). I was 29 when I got mine so that would be young to some but both my wife and I knew we were through.

    Good luck!

  6. Jessica said,

    Aw man, I may not have a lot of room to chat on this subject since im 27 single and soooo cant wait to have kids!!! But here is the thing, You still have a whole life time ahead of you, I would not be thinking about the money right now, I would wait it out. God knowes what your future holds for you and Laura and hes not going to let anything happen that is not in his plan! Talk to Jen on this, I think she would have some good input

  7. Jad said,

    “Man Down” That’s classic.

  8. Laura Morris said,

    Yes, this is a difficult topic. Even though I think I would be fine not having another biological child at the moment, I have no clue what I will want in 5 years. Jarrod always reminds me that we can adopt another child if we want to have more and there is a lot of truth to that. Besides, hormones make me kind of crazy, so I would love not having to deal with that!

  9. Melissa said,

    I am going to say you should wait on this one. I know that you both say you only want two kids, but you never know. Until Laura can say that she knows she will never want to be pregnant again, I would not have the procedure. I know you guys will pray about it and make the best decision for the both of you.

  10. Lisa Ruggles said,

    Jarrod & Laura,

    Brad and I spent a long time waiting to decide this. We finally new it was time when we had a “scare” and realized that we would be totally freaked out at the thought of a new baby. We both had intended to have 4 children but after my pregnancy’s 2 was plenty. Neither one of us have every regretted the decision we made. My suggestion…… don’t do anything permanent until you BOTH are 100% ready and give it plenty of time.

  11. B.J. said,

    J-rod,
    i don’t know if I can offer any insight into whether you should have more children or not. I feel that will come to you in time, but what I can offer you is my insight into having a vasectomy. I am not 40, but yes I did get one. After 3 kids it was time to shut the valve off. It was pretty easy. In and out in 20 minutes. (After all the consultation and paperwork, of course!!). Don’t sweat it if you ever decide to pull the trigger (no pun intended) on the procedure. Having kids is a great thing but make sure, very sure you don’t want any more if you have the vasectomy. Good Luck!!

Leave a Reply

