Adoption-harder than you think

June 22, 2008 at 8:54 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )

Well, I am glad that some of you are still reading my husbands blog after all of the controversial issues he has brought up. My name is Laura Morris and I’m guest blogging today.

So, we feel that God is calling us to adopt our second child.

The idea has been on our hearts since before we even had Micah. Now he is almost 2 years old, so we started doing research. For some reason, we were not thinking about how grueling and expensive it is to adopt a child from this country. We are not being picky…we just would like to give a baby a loving home.

It has been very frustrating and sometimes we get overwhelmed by all of the agencies who say that there are many children who need homes, but that we cannot complete the process until we come up with $15,000!!!!

Yes, you heard me correctly: $15,000.

We do not know how it will happen, but we are trying to have faith.

Do any of you have any experience with the process of adopting domestically?

Have you ever experienced feeling called to do something, but it seemed completely impossible?

14 Comments

  1. Carmen said,

    Laura
    Have you ever looked at Alison’s blog? http://adoptionphotoblog.com/

    She is a sweetheart and they just adopted their little girl – who is A.DOR.A.BLE – right at a year ago. She lives relatively closeby and would probably be happy to talk to you because, like I said, she is a really sweet girl. (Ricky was her best friend’s 8th grade Sunday School teacher!)

    I can’t wait to see where this road takes you. I’m sure that God is going to do amazing things for your family!
    Carmen

  2. brandiandboys said,

    I’ll be praying for you! Keep me posted.

  3. Jessica said,

    Its a wonder why they charge so much to give a child a good home??? I mean isnt suppose to be about the Kids finding a safe family to go to… What do they do with that money anyways…Maybe if they didnt charge so much more Children would have adoptive families…. You guys are in my prayers!!! God will take care of it.

  4. Ash said,

    I’m so proud of you guys for pursuing this! I’m praying for you in the process.

    Also, I’d be happy to lend my mad hula-hooping skills to any fundraising efforts!

  5. cortni said,

    Hey Laura, I will talk to Beau and see if I can get his mom’s number. She has adopted 3 children from within the states so she might have some useful information or contacts. I know that this is not something you two are going into lightly and I am amazed at your willingness to share your love.

  6. Jud said,

    Jarrod and Laura,

    This is reminding me of the spiritual application of Christ pursuing his chosen ones who are being grafted in (us Gentiles) or adopted. I’m thinking about His Shepherd’s Heart for us longing to draw us in and know us intimately. More often than not, on His part, that is a long and dogged pursuit. From the reactive saving rescuer relationship to the deepest issues of Lordship.

    Thank you for your openness to adopt, I’m about to become a Daddy in a few weeks by choice. Adoption is parenthood on a completely different level though. I want you to be encouraged, I hate that beauracracy has made the process do difficult but if you think about it it really needs to be because of the level of Parents that are needed.

    I believe you fit that bill. Go for it!

  7. Laura Morris said,

    Thanks for all of your comments. I just got really excited thinking about the child that God will place in our care in the future. The best thing about it all is that I know that all of you will be there with us…our church family. We are so blessed to have you in our lives.

  8. cortni said,

    Okay this has nothing to do with adoption, but when you don’t have kids this kind of thing(thejwoshow.wordpress.com) is the most important thing in you life 🙂 Jarrod and Laura could you check out Jared’s blog and vote in my favor? I need your help!

  9. Phil Chalos said,

    r3…..relenquish …rely….rejoice.

    If you think one is fun wait until you get the second and third. Good times! We are praying for you.

  10. Jasen said,

    Right on man. In my family I’m the oldest of six, and the youngest three are adopted. My parents started in the early nineties as foster parents and my family got into adoption from there. My family is also a multi-racial family. Joey 18, is hispanic, and tanisha and nika, 15 and 12 are black. They call themselves the “real sistaz” of the family. It takes a specail loving heart to adopt. Even to open one’s eyes to consider it is a big step.

    I’ll be praying for ya

  11. ally said,

    God seems to like operating in the realm of the impossible, and we often fail to recognize miracles for what they really are. You guys are so wise to listen to what God is saying and begin to investigate it, using the resources available to you. He’ll bless your obedience, and we look forward to reading about your journey. Exciting!

  12. OCD-ism/Obsessive Christian Disorder said,

    Wow Laura and Jarrod!! HOW AMAZING! Although we have never adopted (but it looks like I have, since she looks NOTHING like me)- I have a very good girlfriend who did and yes, it was extremely expensive but to them it was the same cost as having a “C-section” in the hospital…. so they really took a different approach on the whole process….PLUS when God wants you to have something, you’re going to have it-one way or another! We’ll be praying!!

  13. Sally Rogers said,

    Hi,
    I’m a neighbor of Jennifer Dillingham and she mentioned this post to me tonight at our block party. I have two beautiful children that my husband and I adopted through a local agency. Miriam’s Promise is a fantastic, Christian agency. As far as the fees go, they have a sliding scale according to your income, and it’s broken down into installments so you don’t have to have it all at once. I would be more than happy to talk with you about it. Also, here’s the information for Miriam’s Promise. Their phone number is 292-3500 and the website is http://www.miriamspromise.org. They encourage open adoptions, so not only can you help a child, but you have the opportunity to help the birth family also. My husband and I are so proud of our children and their amazing, courageous birthmothers; and feel blessed that we’ve been able to witness to them as well. Our son’s birthmother was baptised last fall and called us to ask us to be there. It was awesome and a witness to our son as well. Hope this helps a little-
    Sally Rogers

  14. jonathan said,

    we’re praying for you guys!

Leave a Reply

