A Concert In Church?

July 29, 2008 at 12:14 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )

I used to hate when people would tell me that our church services felt like a “concert.” They’d tell me it was too loud and too rocking. (Most of these people’s reference to concerts came from seeing artists like Kenny G)

But now I don’t get offended.

In fact, I hope it sounds like a concert in church.

But, not a concert for the congregation, it’s a concert of worship to our Lord.

We’re there to honor and praise God. Let’s make it loud. Let’s join our voices and instruments to make a wonderful noise to our Saviors ear.

Any thoughts or opinions?

8 Comments

  1. Laura said,

    Yeah, I like to think of us all being on stage together as we sing because that is porbably what it looks like to God.

  2. Brad Ruggles said,

    I hear you. On the one hand we don’t want a concert from a “come watch us and be entertained” standpoint but on the other hand we should be giving our absolute best to create the best-sounding, well-produced offering to God that we can.

    I’m not a worship guy but as a creative person who has sat in tons of worship services across the country I know there’s a balance to how we approach worship.

  3. Jessica said,

    I LOVE it just like it is, Concert or not, Its about God, not about what people think is to loud or show-y… I second Laura, The church should be a stage as EVERYONE joins together to worship our God

  4. Melissa said,

    that’s a great thought—we are all on stage in front of the Lord. I’m embarrassed to admit this, but in the past I have complained about worship being too concert-y for my taste. (of course, I complained to friends rather than going to the worship leader or, sigh, to the Lord). In retrospect, I can see that it was all about the state of my heart being judgemental, dissatisfied, etc. When my heart is right with God, it really doesn’t matter what’s going on on stage because I’m focused on Him and not them….

  5. krista said,

    i love the “concert style” music! the music is the reason i came back to Cross Point for a second time two years ago!! it wasn’t even a full band when i started coming cuz we were still in Gower. i grew up with the Baptist and Presbyterian church music (ya know, traditional with old ladies playing the organ), and CP’s music was soooo refreshing and i actually wanted to sing it!

  6. Pete Wilson said,

    Jarrod, I think you always do a great job of making sure that those on stage are the prompters, that we (the congregation) are the performers, and that God is the audience.

  7. dana Johnson said,

    The music every week is uplifting, inspiring, and is when I feel I am truly worshipping as I sing or listen to others singing or playing. Now if I go to other churches, the music doesn’t move me, and at CP, it always does. You can see it is from the heart and for God, not yourselves. I think you are awesome!

  8. ally said,

    This is slightly off topic….but it’s interesting to me that we often act more excited at a concert than we do when we’re singing to the Lord. I grew up in a church where no one showed any emotion during a worship service, and I was certainly more excited about Pearl Jam than Christ. Now it’s great to see people who are obviously singing to their King with loud voices and uplifted hearts.

Leave a Reply

