Influence, Culture, and Relevance

August 21, 2008 at 10:31 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

I’m starting to realize how powerful words can be.

Hi, I’m Jarrod. I’m the guy who used to post 3 or 4 times a week. I was the guy who would ask controversial stuff and just watch, as my stats would rise.

But I’m also the guy who freaks out when ever he feels like too many people are watching him.

I hate feeling like a leader. I hate feeling like people are taking my words to heart. I hate the pressure that comes with responsibility.

I can try fighting it all day long, but I have to face facts. I have influence. And it’s my job to decide how I use that influence. I can waste it away one post at a time, or I can choose to use my influence to advance the kingdom.

So I’m choosing the kingdom.

In the next few weeks, I’ll be changing my format. I’ll be trying to center all my post around culture and relevance. I may not get it right all the time, but I’ll try my hardest.

Do any of you struggle with influence?

12 Comments

  1. girlnamedanne said,

    nah.

    🙂

  2. bradruggles said,

    Dude, at least you’re being real. I’m personally a bit of a stat slut myself (It’s an obsession I’m seeking help for) so I can’t relate there. But what I do love reading is people who are simply being themselves. That’s what is the most appealing thing.

    Good luck on your new format and topics. Look forward to reading.

  3. Jenni Catron said,

    I love your heart Jarrod! I’m so proud of the leader you are becoming.

  4. brandiandboys said,

    yes, i do struggle with influence. i’m not gifted as a leader, yet sometimes because of my “role” leadership is expected. kinda the same as with your position.

    love the direction you’re going in! can’t wait to see what you bring us!

  5. Jessica said,

    I love you man! And I love the things you share on your blog! Dont change who you are one bit!

    I struggle with it also> every day all day long!

  6. Jared Woodard said,

    Definetly. I worry ALOT about what other pepole are going to think of the decisions I make,and not enough if their the decisions I GOD want’s me to make.

    P.S.: You cant just stop posting controversial stuff cold turkey! What will jenni do? 😀

  7. waswrittenin said,

    Yes. I do struggle with influence. I struggle with how I am building my friends up instead of tearing the m down. I struggle with how I support them when I don’t necessarily agree with what they are doing. It’s always in the back of my mind— I am trying to decide whether or not who I am at the moment is who God wants me to be… It’s hard! BUT… I think that being translucent and authentic, as you are being right now… is a characteristic of an AMAZING leader… someone that other people can look at and say, “I get it… I have been there, too!”

    Can’t wait to see what you have to say!

  8. David Grisham said,

    I’m watching you…….right now…look outside.

    just kidding…looking forward to it.

  9. Pete Wilson said,

    Awesome post Jarrod. I love your thoughts here. I struggle with the investment of my influence all the time.

  10. Tommy Sircy said,

    We all influence others. It doesn’t make any difference if we are in leadership or not. There will always be those in our lives taking their cue from us. It is a responsiblity most people never quite get a handle on. I’ve done a horrible job in that regard a few times.

    So……I’m going to work on this one right along with you. Thanks for a great post and great reminder.

  11. Miranda said,

    I’m proud of you.

  12. Jasen said,

    Everyday. The word “responsibility” comes to mind… but for some reason it makes it seem more of a chore in that capacity more so than a calling. I wonder EVERY day if I’m doing good or making progress in people’s lives, let alone my own.

Leave a Reply

